RSS Feed

sweet potatoes and yogurt drops

Posted on

I knew this wasn’t going to go well the moment I decided I was going to do it.

Sweet Potato Hummus.

It was too good to be true. I am sure that somewhere out there, is a great, great recipe for this fabulous sounding dish… but it sure isn’t the one I stumbled upon.

Maybe it was because I forgot to roast my sweet potato before I tried to shred it in the processor, causing it to grind like chalk… Maybe.

Orrr, maybe it was that stupid online forum that said, “Oh, yeah, peanut butter is a GREAT substitute for tahini.” Either they lied on purpose or don’t have taste buds.

Or just maybe, it was because my processor is too small, so it actually wasn’t able to fit all of the ingredients needed to make this spackle, paste, hummus-thing…

I don’t think I can blame whatever this is on my lack of kitchen appliances. But in a perfect world… Well this probably wouldn’t exist there. Neither would alarm clocks.

I am obsessed with food. I think I have a problem actually. Which is why I am starting this blog. Hey, if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em! I decided instead of steering clear of all food ever, I am going to stick it to the man and document my culinary adventures here.

Hoping that by the time I figure out I am using reverse psychology on myself, it will be too late. I’ll be skinny and there’s nothing I can do about it. I am calling it Operation: Flat Taylor. I may even put myself in an envelope when I’m done and travel the world by carrier pigeon.

I’ll be using two things on this journey that you may need to know about if you, sayyy, wanted to join me?

1. Weight Watchers. Hallelujah for whoever made this so simple. I’ve said in one of my previous blogs that I didn’t get it the first time around. Well there’s been an app developed since then, and maybe that’s all I needed. I’m pretty technological at times. It’s like my own personal assistant reminding me all day to track my points. And if you know anything about me, I could really use a personal assistant. Love. It.

2. Lysa TerKeurst. Well, kinda. A couple of weeks ago I decided it would be a good idea to leave my little boy at home while I ran to Kroger for who knows what, but I knew it was going to be a short trip so I didn’t bother to put him in his crate. When I came home I found little tiny shards of what may have at one point been paper, scattered across my bedroom floor. I pieced together what I could to find that my sweet Bentley had eaten, literally consumed, the whole transcript of Lysa’s book Made to Crave. Awesome. Ohh, the irony. So I told mom, and mom told Lysa, and the next thing I knew I checked the mailbox and there before my eyes laid a brand new copy! Woot! I thought that was a good enough sign. So- all that to say. I’ll be going through the Made to Crave devotional throughout this blog in hopes that it will aid you and I in becoming closer to God and healthy living!

After that hummus disaster, It’s probably best if I leave you with a treat. A healthy one duh.

I give you, Yogurt Drops.

Easy peasy.

I’m sure you all know the ole cut-a-hole-at-the-corner-of-a-ziplock-bag-for-an-instant-icing-decorator trick, but if you don’t, that’s what I used to drip little dots of yogurt on this foil covered cookie sheet.

Now, I believe you are supposed to use wax paper instead of foil, but we’ve already seen that my kitchen is anything but ready-made, so I learn to make due.

Anyways, spoon your favorite flavor of yogurt into that baggie, plop little dots all over that pan, and throw that baby in the freezer because it’s bedtime and you have to wake up early to eat ice cream for breakfast!! (Just play along, it’s all a part of the plan.) 

Word on the street is only 60 calories per whole pan of dots. I can dig it.

Bentley is running in his sleep as I type. He’s obviously excited about breakfast.

Goodnight foodies. So excited to go on this adventure together!

2 responses »

  1. Wow honey. 2 Blogs. And really good ones too. This is so fun.

    Reply
  2. You are one hilarious girl! I am proud of you… Keep writing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

