RSS Feed

mexican mondays

Posted on

Such a beautiful thing. And wouldn’t you believe it because I seriously LOVE Mexican food. And now with my newfound adoration for cooking, nothing could be better than a homemade Mexican meal. (Well, not much can beat a dining experience at El Mezcal, right Kate?) 

Tonight I braved the waters and decided to try to replicate Rubio’s fish tacos. Now. I’ll go ahead and admit they tasted nothing like Rubio’s. But, they were still pretty fantastic if I do say so myself. I’m also gonna go ahead and let you know that I didn’t take any pictures because by the time I thought about it, the only bite left was a little piece of cilantro hanging out of Meg’s mouth like a cat caught red handed eating a bird. (Yes, cilantro, remember we talked about this?) But anyways, we devoured them. Hey, at least I’m honest.

On another note, I am so struggling with eating this week. Mainly because I don’t have many ingredients to choose from (it’s about time to hit the grocery store if ya know what I mean…) so it’s been mostly chips, salsa, hummus and fish. Which on the surface sounds pretty healthy, but if you truly knew the mass quantities that have been consumed you would be disgusted.

Which is why today’s Made to Crave was so encouraging. Lysa quoted her friend, Karen Ehman, in saying, “Define your week by obedience, not by a number on the scale.” So. Good. Karen went on to ask herself questions about the week behind her like, did she overeat? Did she try to exercise? Did she consciously choose food over God? If she could truly answer no to these questions then she had really been seeking God’s favor that week, and faithfully obeying Him. She goes on to say, “So, why oh why do I get tied up in a stupid number?” – For real??

I don’t own a scale. First, because I am poor and can’t afford one. And second, because I don’t want one. It makes my Weight Watchers weigh-in’s a little difficult, but I don’t want to know how much I weigh, nor do I need to. I just want to be happy with the way I look and feel. And so does God. He longs for our obedience to His voice throughout the day. As long as we are trying our best and respecting His instruction, we can’t go wrong!

Granted, I probably couldn’t answer no to most of those questions, but that’s why Grace is so amazing!! All He wants is my full attention and obedience, and everything else will fall into place. And I know I can use that thought process in other areas of my life as well. Which is super cool.

Here’s to new Mexican Monday traditions and obeying the Lord instead of idols, whatever yours may be.

So pull down your sombrero and take a siesta, because tomorrows a new day full of refreshing hope and grace.

Goodnight friends.

Leave a Reply

